There is a New Sheriff in Town

Here is the original version of my introductory letter to the community as the new visual arts writer for the East Bay Express.

There is a New Sheriff in Town

My name is Obi Kaufmann and for the foreseeable future, I will be your tour guide through the vibrant, demanding, sometimes ruthless and always surprising world of Visual Art in the East Bay. I am in love with this scene and I will die championing it as a world-class art ecosystem that rivals any city anywhere. I grew up here and am intimately familiar with the scene from all sides of the gallery experience. I have managed a few galleries, have had successful shows of my own paintings, curated group shows all over the place, co-created Live Art Wednesdays, and have been running an arts blog/zine for nearly six years: oaklandsweetart.wordpress.com. I plan on offering up quite a cornucopia in my weekly contributions, including interviews, surveys, bios, previews and of course, reviews. I promise to keep the language laid back and not too fussy.

-Obi Kaufmann

 

    Leave a Reply

