Christine Benjamin, Robot Lady Doesn’t Fit

I am very happy to include Christine Benjamin in THE MODERN CHIMERA at Sweetart Drawing Gallery this August. Her work is very bright, fun and unexpectedly soft (how do you make a robot soft?) I visited her San Jose studio a couple of weeks ago and encountered a wonder land of pop-culture and a refreshing voice in Bay Area art. -Obi

Obi: Can you describe your inspiration?

Christine: Old Sci Fi and monster movies: The Day The Earth Stood Still, Dracula (Bela Lugosi), Frankenstein (Boris Karloff), etc.Twilight Zone original TV series, Outer Limits original TV series – the odd stories, twisted tales, creatures.The oddities and quirks of the human psyche. 50’s style robots and laser guns.Cartoons from the 60’s – Underdog, Scoobie-Doo, Rocky and Bullwinkle, Fractured Fairy Tales.Comics: Bone by Jeff Smith, Love and Rockets by Gilbert and Jaime HernandezTime travel, space travel, ghosts, bats, psychic phenomenon.

Obi: We talked about how you get called Robot Lady. If Robot Lady doesn’t fit, what does?
Christine: Robot Lady doesn’t fit. So I really don’t know what would. I don’t want to be cast as a particular type of artist, but I like the name of my current show “Girl Power”.

Obi: I feel like there is no sinister edge to your work, as if it is free of shadow, do you?
Christine: I feel like my work has a weird, twisted edge more than sinister. I really am drawn to dark, sinister art and images, but they have to have a mysterious bent also. I am getting darker in my sketch books and I know that will translate to my finished art.



    Leave a Reply

