Narangkar Glover, Sweetart Interview

Swee(t)Art artists Interviews. NARANGKAR GLOVER

1. What is the next project you are working on?

I am working on a series of landscapes depicting places and structures that have to do with my personal space and my individualistic lifestyle – my immediate surroundings and the people in my life who share it with me. This new body of work is slated to show at Blankspace in 09, so I’m excited!

2. Where do you live and do you want to live there?

I live in North Oakland and yes, I do want to live here. My block is full of contradictions, so it’s only appropriate to say that I want to retreat to a remote cabin at times.

3. Who is your favorite artist right now?

David Hockney and Fairfield Porter are at the forefront of my mind right…now!

4. What is the best show you have been to lately?

The Ware Collection of the Blaschka Glass Flowers at the Harvard Natural History Museum. It’s an entire textbook’s worth of lifelike botanical models all handmade by a father and son with remarkable craftsmanship – it will blow your fucking mind. But it’s in Cambridge, Massachusset’s and you gotta see it in person, but it’s always up, so next time you’re there.

5. What is your favorite thing about the Oakland Art Scene?

The freedom and the DIY spirit. It’s amazing how many spaces are jputting a lot on the line in order to create opportunity for artists. I’ve shown in a number of Oakland spaces and I’m still pretty awestruck by this level of generosity.

6. What is your least favorite thing about the Oakland Art Scene?

People who think the Oakland art scene is going to start competing with the likes of the LA, NY and London scenes, or that somehow we are the new Williamsburg. We should be glad for who we are – we aren’t comparable to anyone else. Oakland is a special place – full of creative, hard working people who are contributing to who we are here and now.

7. If you could label a movement taking place in the Oakland Art Scene right now, what would you label it? Who are your examples?­

I don’t really want to place any expectations on what we are doing. There’s always this sense that the bottom will fall out and we should shout as loud as we can while the world is still watching. It’s going pretty good, let’s just stay focused on making work – as long as we are making work, there will be shows for that work, and as long as there are shows there will be a social and energetic discourse. Steady as she goes!




    Leave a Reply

