First Friday 04-04-08

I went out to first friday last night. I really like the six oclock hour because the crowds are more reasonable and I can see some art. Robert Jew at Front Gallery (www.frontgalleryoakland.com) served pork rolls which are amazingly good. I really believe his gallery is an staple of quality in the art murmur.

Dana and Maya were hanging out at Industrielle (www.industriellegallery.com)
I think Dana is just hilarious and her store is looking better than ever. She is really unique there, you know? in her little boutique. I am really proud she has hung in there for almost two years. She says she is putting together an all-women’s art show to raise money for domestic abuse organizations. I am looking forward to that.

Then I went to Esteban’s (www.estebansabar.com) and met Marty McCorkle (www.martymccorkle.com) again, that guy is great. Esteban’s husband. I really like his new work…he says to me “you know Obi, I paint by numbers.” He obviously doesn’t. Cute, nonetheless.

Kim Johannson (www.johannsonprojects.com) is very sweet too. I don’t know how she manages to get the amazing shows she does every single show. I ask her to please reveal her secrets to me for a sweetart feature, she agreed! stay tuned. It was a casual acceptance, right now I am hoping there will be a sweetart10 at all.

I met Theo Auer suckin a beer at mama buzz after running past Blook printing extravaganza. It looked way too intense in there for me. Theo has just posted a very nice piece on the novometro site about my work (www.novometro.com) A consumate and talented writer, I am very appreciative to Theo for his support.

I wanted to make it to blankspace (www.blankspacegallery.com), I havent seen Jason and Kerri in a while and John’s pics (www.bunnywax.com) of the Sam Lopez show are really good. But I was on my bike, so I couldn’t go very far.

My last stop of the evening was at my neighbor and buddy’s gallery, Rowan Morrison (www.rowanmorrison.com) Pete was showing the work of Michelle Huber. It is a tight little show, always is a Pete’s place. Michelle’s work reminds me of dreams I had when I was young.

Pete and I discussed all the cool shit going on in our neighborhood at 40th and Broadway. Manifesto Bicycles (www.wearemanifesto.com) is opening today with Jessica Serran’s (www.jessicaserran.com) work up. I can’t wait to see what she has done now.

    Leave a Reply

      • RECENT STUDIO VISITS

  • Moises Aragon

